3MET Conference 2016

The interdisciplinary Collaborative Research Center (CRC/SFB) 3MET.de hosted at the RPTU Kaiserslautern-Landau from the 5th till 7th of October the 3rd international "Conference on Bimetallic Complexes" as sequel of a series of conferences in the research area of multimetallic complexes. From around the world 120 participants contributed to lectures, poster sessions and discussions. 


The focus of the conference was on basic research and applications of molecular systems with two or more metal centers. Cooperative effects between metal atoms were reported to achieve new applications in magnetism (switches and devices), spintronics (Grovers algorithm), luminescence (OLED, NLO), spectroscopy (new methods) and catalysis (dinitrogen fixation, C-N bond formation). The nine sessions were introduced by keynote lectures with two subsequent oral presentations to research achievements. Keynote lectures were given by Rhett Kempe (Bayreuth), Matthias Tamm (Braunschweig)  and Paul Chirik (Princeton) on catalysis, Jürgen Heck (Hamburg), Jeffrey Long (Berkeley), Wolfgang Wernsdorfer (KIT) and Birgit Weber (Bayreuth) on magnetism and optical properties of complexes, Evan Williams (Berkeley) and Roland Mitric (Würzburg) on gas phase spectroscopy and theory of optical transitions in multinuclear complexes. 

Location / Anfahrtsplan

Conference Schedule

3rd International Conference on Bimetallic Complexes

The 3rd international conference on Bimetallic Complexes will be located at the RPTU Kaiserslautern-Landau from October 5th till 7th 2016 organized through the DFG funded Transregional Collaborative Research Center 3MET.de. This conference is a continuation of our series starting 2012 at Kaiserslautern and continued 2013 at Karlsruhe. The aim of this conference is to learn about the latest developments in the synthesis of such complexes and their application in magnetism, catalysis and photochemistry. It will provide scientists the opportunity to exchange their experiences, and to meet and team with the 3MET researchers. In past conferences, many renowned speakers including Tobin Marks, Pierre Braunstein, Felix Tuczek and Thorsten Glaser in 2012, Makasatsu Shibasaki, Klaus Kern, Julia Laskin, Mark Johnson, Roberta Sessoli A. Stephen K. Hashmi and Franc Meyer in 2013 presented their research. This year our progam includes again various interesting scientific topics and speakers. We invite you to visit our site and register to this event!


Child Day Care

Close to our lecture hall, a day care possiblity exists. Patricipants with child are encouraged to mail us, if they are in need of a place.


For immediate requests please contact prosenc[at]chemie.uni-kl.de

Scientific commite:

Prof. Dr. Gereon Niedner-Schatteburg, RPTU

Prof. Dr. Manfred M. Kappes, KIT

Prof. Dr. Stefan Bräse, KIT

Prof. Dr. Markus Gerhards, RPTU

Prof. Dr. Peter Roesky, KIT

Prof. Dr. Christoph van Wüllen, RPTU


Local organizing commite:

Dr. Marc Heinrich Prosenc

Petra Wetzel

Hilde Seelos