Distinguished Lecture Series

The Spin+X Distinguished Lecture Series brings outstanding speakers to the Spin+X community during the semester.

The series comprise plenary talks of different key topics for the whole interdisciplinary consortium. Purpose of the event is to provide the community with different perspectives and promote the exchange of thoughts and ideas between experts, staff, and students.

Winter Term 2020/2021

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Eckern  

Augsburg University

8. February 2021, 4:00 p.m.

"Spin-charge conversion and spectral properties of heterostructures containing half-metals: The role of nonquasiparticle states"


Ulrich Eckern studied physics in Dortmund and Karlsruhe, where he received his PhD in 1979. After two years as a postdoc at Cornell University (1980-1982), he returned to the University of Karlsruhe, completing his habilitation in 1984. He was awarded the Walter Schottky Prize in 1989 (with G. Schön and W. Zwerger), as well as a DFG Heisenberg fellowship (1989-1990). After working at the Research Center Karlsruhe (1990-1993), he accepted a full professor position at the University of Augsburg. Recently, he chaired the Low Temperature Division of the German Physical Society (2012-2015), and was a member of the DFG Review Board Condensed Matter Physics (2012-2020).  more


Dr. Oksana Chubykalo-Fesenko  

Spanish National Research Council CSIC, Spain

18. January 2021, 4:00 p.m.

"Modelling of magneto-thermodynamical phenomena"


Dr. Oksana Chubykalo-Fesenko is a senior scientist in the Material Science Institute of Madrid, CSIC, Spain. She obtained M.S. and PhD degrees from Kharkov State University, Ukraine. She worked in the Clarendon Laboratory, Oxford (UK), Complutense University, Madrid (Spain) University of Milano, Como (Italy), University of the Basque country, San Sebastian (Spain), Almaden Research Center, IBM, San Jose (USA) etc. He main interests are centered on the theory of magnetism. She is currently working on fast and ultra-fast magnetization dynamics, magnetic nanoparticles, cylindrical magnetic nanowires and magnetic hyperthermia applications. She is an associated editor of the Journal of Magnetism and Magnetic Materials, and member of the IEEE Magnetics Society Advisory Committee.  more

Prof. Dr. Lars Nordström  

Uppsala University, Sweden

14. December 2020, 4:00 p.m.

"Complex magnetic order and their spontaneous spin and charge currents"


Lars Nordström received his PhD in 1991 in Uppsala under the supervision of Börje Johansson. After two years as postdoc in Jülich (Peter Dederichs, 92-94) he moved to Naval Research Labs in Washington DC (David Singh, 95-96). In 2001 he returned to the Uppsala University as a professor. more

Prof. Dr. Manfred Fiebig  

ETH Zürich

23. November 2020, 4:00 p.m.

"All-optical control of antiferromagnetism"


Professor Fiebig completed a degree (Diploma) in physics at the University of Dortmund, Germany, in 1992, obtaining a PhD from the same university in 1996. From 1997 to 1999, he was a JST Research Fellow (Japan Science and Technology) at the University of Tokyo, Dept. of Applied Physics, Japan. In 1999 he returned to the University of Dortmund, where he headed a Junior Research Group until 2001. He also habilitated at this university in 2001. From 2002 to 2006, Professor Fiebig worked as a DFG (German Research Foundation) Heisenberg Fellow at the Max Born Institute for Non-Linear Optics and Short-Pulse Spectroscopy in Berlin. In 2006 he was appointed Professor of Experimental Solid-State Physics at the University of Bonn, Germany; a position he held until 2011. Since 2011, Manfred Fiebig has been a Professor of Multifunctional Ferroic Materials in the Department of Materials at ETH Zurich where he now heads a group of about 20 people from, presently, 15 different countries. He served as head, resp. deputy head of the Department from 2014-2018. He is the leader of the Working Group Magnetism (AG Magnetismus) in the German Physical Society (DPG). His recent honours include an APS Fellowship and an ERC Advanced Investigator Grant with a Proof of Concept upgrade. more

Dr. Mark Stiles  

National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), USA

02. November 2020, 4:00 p.m.

"New Mechanisms of Spin-Orbit Torques"


Mark Stiles is a NIST Fellow in the Alternative Computing Group at the National Institute of Standards and Technology. He received his undergraduate degree in Physics from Yale University and Ph.D. in Physics from Cornell University and did postdoctoral research at AT&T Bell Laboratories. Mark's research has focused on the development of theoretical methods for predicting the properties of magnetic nanostructures and has recently shifted to alternative computing. He has helped organize conferences and has served the American Physical Society on the Executive Committee of the Division of Condensed Matter Physics and as Chair the Topical Group on Magnetism. He has served as a Divisional Associate Editor for Physical Review Letters, on the Editorial Board of Physical Review Applied, and is an Associate Editor for Reviews of Modern physics.  more